Take Action!

It is a critical time: we are supporting a legal challenge against Sizewell C’s planning consent (by TASC),  which Ministers granted against the recommendation of the Planning Inspectorate, and the government is considering giving financial support.

Help us fight back!   

* Join Us. Being part of the campaign is so important right now. Sign up here to receive regular updates.

* Consider making a donation to Stop Sizewell CWe need to raise funds to support the legal challenge and continue campaigning.

* Write to the Prime Minister and Chancellor to express concern about the government’s position on Sizewell C and proposals to streamline planning and reform species and habitats regulations.

* Send evidence to Chris Skidmore’s Net Zero review.  Deadline is 11.45pm, 27 October. The  review’s remit is is to ensure “delivering the net zero target does not place undue burdens on businesses or consumers”. Tell him he should visit East Suffolk and talk to affected communities, and explain Sizewell C is likely to cost much more and take longer than we are told. We have some guidance here. With rising costs, inflation and interest rates, the burden on households will only increase. Respond online here or by email to  netzeroreview@beis.gov.uk

Please put messages to Ministers and the Net Zero review in your own words based on these suggestions:

  • Oppose the government’s proposals to streamline national infrastructure planning, which is wholly inappropriate for a project like Sizewell C. It’s a bonfire of environmental protection regulation and local democracy rights.
  • In the review of the Net Zero strategy, cheaper, quicker and more sustainable energy solutions must be urgently reconsidered. The Office for Budgetary Responsibility says government debt is on an unsustainable path, so how can adding to it to build Sizewell C be justified when there is so much pressure to address the cost of living?
  • Households would have to pay for Sizewell C, via the RAB (#nucleartax) but no one in government is prepared to come clean about how much it will cost to build. The media is reporting it will be up to £30 billion.
  • The Prime Minister has announced a temporary halt to green levies on energy bills,  likely for at least 2 years. How can adding a nuclear levy to bills for Sizewell C be justified?
  • How can it be a good use of UK taxpayers funds to support a project promoted by a foreign company which is having to undergo emergency nationalisation because its own finances are so compromised by its failure to build new nuclear reactors to time and budget and repair the numerous reactors offline in France?
  • You can also take part in the RSPB’s excellent #AttackOnNature campaign to send messages to MPs. Over 100,000 have done so – add your voice!

* Urge UK Funds not to invest. If you have a private or company pension, or hold shares in banks, pension schemes or other UK investors, please write and ask for their assurance they will not invest in Sizewell C. Visit our special page for links and ways to contact investors.

* If you are an East Suffolk or Suffolk resident, write to your District Councillor and/or County Councillor and urge them to oppose Sizewell C. Find them here.  We have not provided suggested text as your messages will be more impactful if they are unique to you, but you may wish to raise some of the points we make in our “Case Against Sizewell C“.

* Follow us on social media, and watch and share our posts and videos

* Take a walk through the proposed construction site, and see for yourself what would be lost.

* Put up a Poster in your window or a campaign board by the road or in front of your house.  Contact us on info@stopsizewellc.org

* Write letters to the editors of national and local papers about Sizewell C. Contact us on info@stopsizewellc.org if you want tips or someone to fact-check a letter you have written.

 

 

 

USEFUL ADDRESSES

EDF, Sizewell C Information Office, 48-50 High Street Leiston, Suffolk IP16 4EW,  info@sizewellc.co.uk

Suffolk Coastal Member of Parliament: Dr Therese Coffey, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA.  Tel: 020 7219 7164. Email: therese.coffey.mp@parliament.uk

Suffolk County Council (SCC): Endeavour House, 8 Russell Road, Ipswich IP1 2BX.

SCC Leader: Cllr Matthew Hicks,  matthew.hicks@suffolk.gov.uk

Environment and Public Protection and County Council Lead on Sizewell C: Cllr Richard Rout richard.rout@suffolk.gov.uk

Cabinet Member for Economic Development, Transport Strategy and Waste: Cllr Richard  Smith richard.smith@suffolk.gov.uk

Please copy any letters to local County Councillors Richard Smith richard.smith@suffolk.gov.uk and TJ Haworth-Culf tj.haworth-culf@suffolk.gov.uk

East Suffolk District Council: Melton Hill, Woodbridge, Suffolk, IP12 1AU or Riverside, 4 Canning Rd, Lowestoft,
NR33 0EQ.

Leader & Finances/Resources: Steve Gallant, steve.gallant@eastsuffolk.gov.uk

Deputy Leader & Economic Development, and ESC lead on Sizewell C: Craig Rivett, craig.rivett@eastsuffolk.gov.uk

Planning and Coastal Management: David Ritchie, david.ritchie@eastsuffolk.gov.uk

Communities, Leisure and Tourism: Leticia Smith, letitia.smith@eastsuffolk.gov.uk

Environment: James Mallinder, james.mallinder@eastsuffolk.gov.uk

Transport: Norman Brooks, norman.brooks@eastsuffolk.gov.uk

Please copy any letters to Aldeburgh & Leiston Ward’s District Councillors: Tony Cooper tony.cooper@eastsuffolk.gov.uk,  Tom Daly tom.daly@eastsuffolk.gov.uk and Russ Rainger russ.rainger@eastsuffolk.gov.uk

Planning Inspectorate [PINS], Temple Quay House, Temple Quay, Bristol BS1 6PN, sizewellc@planninginspectorate.gov.uk