Take Action!

It is a critical time: EDF’s application to build Sizewell C is advancing through the planning process – despite covid – and the government is considering giving financial support.

Help us fight back!   

* Join Us. Being part of the campaign is so important right now. Sign up here to receive regular updates.

* Sign a petition – www.stopsizewellcpetition.com is a joint petition with Together Against Sizewell C and has so far been signed by over 19,000 people. Please also oppose a possible new funding model – the Regulated Asset Base (RAB) – under which all UK energy customers would pay an annual sum towards building Sizewell C. Although a year old, this petition from consumer campaign group Sum Of Us is still active: www.actions.sumofus.org/a/no-energy-bill-surcharge-for-new-nuclear

* Tell the Chancellor, The Rt Hon Rishi Sunak MP not to waste our money! Read our briefing and take action here.

* Tell the Business Secretary Kwasi Kwarteng that the UK government should not support Sizewell C. Please copy your MP (in Suffolk Coastal this is Therese Coffey MP therese.coffey.mp@parliament.uk who will only respond if the message to her, rather than cc)

* Urge UK Funds not to invest. If you have a private or company pension, or hold shares in banks, pension schemes or other UK investors, please write and ask for their assurance they will not invest in Sizewell C. Aviva, Prudential and Legal &General have already expressed caution. You can use an online tool from Sum of Us to easily send a message to your pension provider.

* If you are an East Suffolk or Suffolk resident, write to your District Councillor and/or County Councillor and urge them to oppose Sizewell C. Find them here.  We have not provided suggested text as your messages will be more impactful if they are unique to you, but you may wish to raise some of the points we make in our “Case Against Sizewell C“.

* Follow us on social media, and watch and share our posts and videos

* Take a walk through the proposed construction site, and see for yourself what would be lost.

* Donate: Donations gratefully received. you can give online via  www.stopsizewellc.org/donate or by cheque to Old Store, Eastbridge IP16 4SJ.

* Put up a Poster in your window or a campaign board by the road or in front of your house.  Contact us on info@stopsizewellc.org

* Write letters to the editors of national and local papers about Sizewell C. Contact us on info@stopsizewellc.org if you want tips or someone to fact-check a letter you have written.

USEFUL ADDRESSES.

EDF, Sizewell C Information Office, 48-50 High Street Leiston, Suffolk IP16 4EW,  info@sizewellc.co.uk

Suffolk Coastal Member of Parliament: Dr Therese Coffey, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA.  Tel: 020 7219 7164. Email: therese.coffey.mp@parliament.uk

Suffolk County Council (SCC): Endeavour House, 8 Russell Road, Ipswich IP1 2BX.

SCC Leader, including Economic Development and Infrastructure: Cllr Matthew Hicks,  matthew.hicks@suffolk.gov.uk

Environment and Public Protection and County Council Lead on Sizewell C: Cllr Richard Rout richard.rout@suffolk.gov.uk

Highways and Transport & Rural Issues: Cllr Andrew Reid  andrew.reid@suffolk.gov.uk

Please copy any letters to local County Councillors Richard Smith richard.smith@suffolk.gov.uk and TJ Haworth-Culf tj.haworth-culf@suffolk.gov.uk

East Suffolk District Council: Melton Hill, Woodbridge, Suffolk, IP12 1AU or Riverside, 4 Canning Rd, Lowestoft,
NR33 0EQ.

Leader & Finances/Resources:  Steve Gallant, steve.gallant@eastsuffolk.gov.uk

Deputy Leader & Economic Development, and ESC lead on Sizewell C: Craig Rivett, craig.rivett@eastsuffolk.gov.uk

Planning and Coastal Management: David Ritchie, david.ritchie@eastsuffolk.gov.uk

Communities, Leisure and Tourism: Leticia Smith, letitia.smith@eastsuffolk.gov.uk

Environment: James Mallinder, james.mallinder@eastsuffolk.gov.uk

Transport: Norman Brooks, norman.brooks@eastsuffolk.gov.uk

Please copy any letters to Aldeburgh & Leiston Ward’s District Councillors: Tony Cooper tony.cooper@eastsuffolk.gov.uk,  Tom Daly  tom.daly@eastsuffolk.gov.uk and Russ Rainger russ.rainger@eastsuffolk.gov.uk

Planning Inspectorate [PINS], Temple Quay House, Temple Quay, Bristol BS1 6PN, sizewellc@planninginspectorate.gov.uk