Take Action!

It is a critical time: EDF has just been granted planning consent against the recommendation of the Planning Inspectorate, and the government is considering giving financial support.

Help us fight back!   

* Join Us. Being part of the campaign is so important right now. Sign up here to receive regular updates.

* Please consider making a donation to Stop Sizewell CWe need to raise funds for legal fees as we assess the potential to appeal the planning decision.

* Write to the candidates to be Prime Minister and to serving Ministers – the Chancellor and Business Secretary (see below for candidates). Please put your message in your own words based on these suggestions:

  • Urge them NOT to make a Government Investment Decision in Sizewell C which will tie the hands of Britain’s next Prime Minister.
  • Call for a review of the Net Zero and British Energy Security Strategies: the Net Zero strategy has been found to be unlawful, as it does not detail how policy decisions will lead to specific cuts in emissions. The government will have to update its climate strategy to include a quantified account of how its policies will achieve climate targets, so this is an appropriate time to review the rationale and deliverability of such a focus on nuclear energy.
  • Cheaper, quicker and more sustainable energy solutions must be urgently reconsidered. The Office for Budgetary Responsibility says government debt is on an unsustainable path, so how can adding to it be justified when there is so much pressure on government to address the cost of living?
  • Households would have to pay for Sizewell C, via the RAB (#nucleartax) but no one in government is prepared to come clean about how much it will cost to build. More than £20 billion certainly.
  • The candidates for Prime Minister have variously been promising tax cuts and to halt green levies on energy bills. How can they therefore justify adding a levy to bills for Sizewell C?
  • How can it be a good use of UK taxpayers funds to support a project promoted by a foreign company which is having to undergo emergency nationalisation because its own finances are so compromised by its failure to build new nuclear reactors to time and budget and repair the numerous reactors offline in France.
  • Contacts (those of PM candidates in order of votes received to date):

* Urge UK Funds not to invest. If you have a private or company pension, or hold shares in banks, pension schemes or other UK investors, please write and ask for their assurance they will not invest in Sizewell C. Aviva, Prudential and Legal &General have already expressed caution. You can use an online tool from Sum of Us to easily send a message to your pension provider.

* If you are an East Suffolk or Suffolk resident, write to your District Councillor and/or County Councillor and urge them to oppose Sizewell C. Find them here.  We have not provided suggested text as your messages will be more impactful if they are unique to you, but you may wish to raise some of the points we make in our “Case Against Sizewell C“.

* Follow us on social media, and watch and share our posts and videos

* Take a walk through the proposed construction site, and see for yourself what would be lost.

* Donate: Donations gratefully received. you can give online via  www.stopsizewellc.org/donate or by cheque to Old Store, Eastbridge IP16 4SJ.

* Put up a Poster in your window or a campaign board by the road or in front of your house.  Contact us on info@stopsizewellc.org

* Write letters to the editors of national and local papers about Sizewell C. Contact us on info@stopsizewellc.org if you want tips or someone to fact-check a letter you have written.

USEFUL ADDRESSES.

EDF, Sizewell C Information Office, 48-50 High Street Leiston, Suffolk IP16 4EW,  info@sizewellc.co.uk

Suffolk Coastal Member of Parliament: Dr Therese Coffey, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA.  Tel: 020 7219 7164. Email: therese.coffey.mp@parliament.uk

Suffolk County Council (SCC): Endeavour House, 8 Russell Road, Ipswich IP1 2BX.

SCC Leader, including Economic Development and Infrastructure: Cllr Matthew Hicks,  matthew.hicks@suffolk.gov.uk

Environment and Public Protection and County Council Lead on Sizewell C: Cllr Richard Rout richard.rout@suffolk.gov.uk

Highways and Transport & Rural Issues: Cllr Andrew Reid  andrew.reid@suffolk.gov.uk

Please copy any letters to local County Councillors Richard Smith richard.smith@suffolk.gov.uk and TJ Haworth-Culf tj.haworth-culf@suffolk.gov.uk

East Suffolk District Council: Melton Hill, Woodbridge, Suffolk, IP12 1AU or Riverside, 4 Canning Rd, Lowestoft,
NR33 0EQ.

Leader & Finances/Resources:  Steve Gallant, steve.gallant@eastsuffolk.gov.uk

Deputy Leader & Economic Development, and ESC lead on Sizewell C: Craig Rivett, craig.rivett@eastsuffolk.gov.uk

Planning and Coastal Management: David Ritchie, david.ritchie@eastsuffolk.gov.uk

Communities, Leisure and Tourism: Leticia Smith, letitia.smith@eastsuffolk.gov.uk

Environment: James Mallinder, james.mallinder@eastsuffolk.gov.uk

Transport: Norman Brooks, norman.brooks@eastsuffolk.gov.uk

Please copy any letters to Aldeburgh & Leiston Ward’s District Councillors: Tony Cooper tony.cooper@eastsuffolk.gov.uk,  Tom Daly  tom.daly@eastsuffolk.gov.uk and Russ Rainger russ.rainger@eastsuffolk.gov.uk

Planning Inspectorate [PINS], Temple Quay House, Temple Quay, Bristol BS1 6PN, sizewellc@planninginspectorate.gov.uk