Objection to Sizewell B facilities relocation

On 9 September 2019, East Suffolk Council’s Strategic Planning Committee will consider EDF’s application for the relocation of Sizewell B facilities, DC/19/1637/FUL. Officers are recommending that the application be approved.

TEAGS requests supporters to contact members of the Committee and draw their attention to local concerns. You can resend your own objection (if you submitted one), or can refer to an article in the EADT about Suffolk Preservation Society’s opposition: see https://www.eadt.co.uk/news/coronation-wood-to-be-felled-for-sizewell-c-1-6209336 and TEAGS response (view below)

SAMPLE MESSAGE: NB It is not appropriate to tell Councillors how to vote on EDF’s application, as this constitutes lobbying and may compromise their role on the Committee, however, you can explain your own opinion. Include Planning Application DC/19/1637/FUL and your full name and address to show you live in East Suffolk. Contacts below

Dear [Councillor….],
I am writing to draw your attention to a recent article published by the East Anglian Daily Times, on the views of Suffolk Preservation Society on EDF’s Sizewell B Planning Application DC/19/1637/FUL.  https://www.eadt.co.uk/news/coronation-wood-to-be-felled-for-sizewell-c-1-6209336. My own view on this application is that it should only be considered as part of a Sizewell C Development Consent Order (DCO) procedure for the following reasons:

  • The primary purpose for relocating Sizewell B facilities is to make space for Sizewell C. It would be inappropriate to approve a development that would remove around 90% of  Coronation Wood and up to 50% of Pill Box Field when the DCO request for Sizewell C has neither been submitted nor approved, and when the National Policy Statement on site selection for new nuclear reactors is under review.
  • The cumulative impact on communities and the environment of this proposal and other proposed energy infrastructure will be considerable. The County Council and former Suffolk Coastal District Council have worked hard to ensure these projects are designated as Nationally Significant Infrastructure Projects (NSIPs), and given the interconnectedness of this application with EDF’s Sizewell C proposals, I consider it is inappropriate to exclude this part of the project from the NSIP / DCO process.
  • In the event of Sizewell C not going ahead, it would be unacceptable for landscape to have been destroyed for no reason. I consider that EDF should be able to upgrade its facilities without further damage to the landscape.
  • With the interconnectedness of this project with Sizewell C, I consider it is ironic that EDF is seeking permission from East Suffolk Council when the County Council and former Suffolk Coastal District Council – major statutory consultees – are withholding their support for Sizewell C.

Strategic Planning Committee Members are: Melissa Allen, Orwell and Villages, melissa.allen@eastsuffolk.gov.uk, Paul Ashdown, Lothingland, paul.ashdown@eastsuffolk.gov.uk, Stuart Bird, Western Felixstowe, stuart.bird@eastsuffolk.gov.uk, Chris Blundell, Martlesham and Purdis Farm, chris.blundell@eastsuffolk.gov.uk, Jocelyn Bond, Aldeburgh and Leiston, jocelyn.bond@eastsuffolk.gov.uk, Norman Brooks, Wrentham, Wangford and Westleton, norman.brooks@eastsuffolk.gov.uk, Jenny Ceresa, Carlton Colville, jenny.ceresa@eastsuffolk.gov.uk, Tony Cooper, Aldeburgh and Leiston, tony.cooper@eastsuffolk.gov.uk, Linda Coulam, Gunton and St Margarets, linda.coulam@eastsuffolk.gov.uk, Mike Deacon, Western Felixstowe, michael.deacon@eastsuffolk.gov.uk, Graham Elliot, Beccles and Worlingham, graham.elliott@eastsuffolk.gov.uk, Tony Fryatt, Carlford and Fynn Valley, tony.fryatt@eastsuffolk.gov.uk, Andree Gee, Oulton Broad, andree.gee@eastsuffolk.gov.uk, Colin Hedgley, Carlford and Fynn Valley, colin.hedgley@eastsuffolk.gov.uk, Debbie McCallum, Kesgrave, debbie.mccallum@eastsuffolk.gov.uk, Malcolm Pitchers, Kirkley and Pakefield, malcolm.pitchers@eastsuffolk.gov.uk, David Ritchie, Bungay and Wainford, david.ritchie@eastsuffolk.gov.uk, Craig Rivett, Carlton Colville, craig.rivett@eastsuffolk.gov.uk, Kay Yule, Woodbridge, kay.yule@eastsuffolk.gov.uk.

There are also numerous substitutes see https://eastsuffolk.cmis.uk.com/eastsuffolk/Committees/tabid/62/ctl/ViewCMIS_CommitteeDetails/mid/381/id/8/Default.aspx (Members)

Emails for mass sending: melissa.allen@eastsuffolk.gov.uk, paul.ashdown@eastsuffolk.gov.uk, edward.back@eastsuffolk.gov.uk, stuart.bird@eastsuffolk.gov.uk, chris.blundell@eastsuffolk.gov.uk, jocelyn.bond@eastsuffolk.gov.uk, norman.brooks@eastsuffolk.gov.uk, jenny.ceresa@eastsuffolk.gov.uk, tony.cooper@eastsuffolk.gov.uk, linda.coulam@eastsuffolk.gov.uk, michael.deacon@eastsuffolk.gov.uk, graham.elliott@eastsuffolk.gov.uk, tony.fryatt@eastsuffolk.gov.uk, andree.gee@eastsuffolk.gov.uk, colin.hedgley@eastsuffolk.gov.uk, debbie.mccallum@eastsuffolk.gov.uk, malcolm.pitchers@eastsuffolk.gov.uk, david.ritchie@eastsuffolk.gov.uk, craig.rivett@eastsuffolk.gov.uk , kay.yule@eastsuffolk.gov.uk

TEAGS’s OBJECTION IN FULL – view or download below