TEAGS Public Meeting 21 March 2015

Theberton & Eastbridge Action Group on Sizewell (TEAGS) Public Meeting demonstrates serious ongoing concern about EDF’s proposals [see a report on the meeting by EADT on 26 March 2015]

[Theberton] On 21 March more than 60 local residents heard TEAGS present a report on its work to raise concerns about EDF’s Sizewell C plans – for worker accommodation next to Eastbridge and reliance on the B1122 for all traffic – and discussed future activities. 

Three County Councillors; Graham Newman, Suffolk County Council’s Cabinet Member responsible for roads, Michael Gower and Richard Smith attended and took part in robust discussion, along with James Sandbach, Liberal Democrat parliamentary candidate for Suffolk Coastal constituency.  A letter from Therese Coffey MP, reiterating her opposition to the siting of EDF’s worker accommodation, was also read out to an audience that included residents of Blythburgh, Yoxford, Middleton, Leiston and Saxmundham.

GNewmanTEAGSmeetingloresTEAGS Chair Jon Swallow said “The meeting demonstrated that the community remains deeply concerned about many of the impacts of the proposed new reactors at Sizewell, especially the siting of construction workers, and believes that a relief road is essential. We welcomed the presence of three County Councillors and urge them to lobby their colleagues and EDF to substantially alter their plans before any further consultations take place.”

He went on: “Our audience and Councillors alike raised the urgent need to increase awareness of the impacts of Sizewell C’s construction on other surrounding villages and communities. These impacts will certainly be felt much further afield than Theberton and Eastbridge, and we need to work together to make our voices heard.”

For more information contact Jon Swallow, 01728 830981 or Alison Downes, 07711 843884, info@stopsizewellc.org, www.stopsizewellc.org